Sheehan Named to VaSID All-State Field Hockey First Team; Three Earn Second Team Honors

Sheehan Named to VaSID All-State Field Hockey First Team; Three Earn Second Team Honors
LYNCHBURG, VA – Lynchburg College senior attack Allie Weir (Richmond, VA/James River) earned her second-straight All-State College Division Player of the Year Award Tuesday as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). Taylor Harding from Virginia Wesleyan College took home the state’s rookie of the year award while Christopher Newport University mentor Carrie Moura earned coach of the year recognition.

            Weir set the Division III all-time career goal (131) and point (297) records this season, leading the Hornets to their fourth consecutive Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) crown. She netted 31 goals and added 13 assists en route to first-team 2009 Longstreth/NFCHA All-American, All-Region and All-ODAC honors.

            Harding, a freshman midfielder, was voted the ODAC’s Rookie of the Year and garnered second-team all-conference accolades. She led the ODAC and the nation with 20 defensive saves.

            Moura guided the Captains to a 16-4 record and advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. CNU finished the season with a \#9 Division III ranking and were third in the South Region.

            Lynchburg dominated the first team with five selections, while Eastern Mennonite University had two.

 2009 College Division All-State field Hockey Team

Player of the Year: Allie Weir, Lynchburg College

Rookie of the Year: Taylor Harding, Virginia Wesleyan College

Coach of the Year: Carrie Moura, Christopher Newport University

First Team:

Sallie Armstrong, Washington & Lee
Allyssa Derstine, Eastern Mennonite
Jordan Warrington, Lynchburg
Allie Weir, Lynchburg

Kalah Hess, Bridgewater
Kim Tomlin, Christopher Newport
Jenny Weir, Lynchburg

Signey Milks, Lynchburg
Karissa Sauder, Eastern Mennonite
Heidi Sheehan, Mary Washington

Sarah Cates, Lynchburg

Second Team:

Taylor Harrell, Christopher Newport
Emma Jones, Mary Washington
Mary McCarthy, Randolph-Macon

Stephanie Bair, Christopher Newport
Florence George, Mary Washington
Grace McGee, Washington & Lee
Sarah Roth, Eastern Mennonite

Samantha Marano, Lynchburg
Jaci Marshall, Mary Washington
Brianna Milne, Christopher Newport

Christina Scichilone, Roanoke