Caitlin Baker Named CAC Rookie of the Year as All-CAC Field Hockey Teams Announced

Caitlin Baker Named CAC Rookie of the Year as All-CAC Field Hockey Teams Announced
YORK, Pa. - Wesley College senior Brooke Tadlock (Middletown, Del./Middletown) was picked as the Player of the Year while University of Mary Washington freshman Caitlin Baker (Falls Church, Va./McLean) and coach Dana Hall were honored with individual awards to lead the 2010 All-CAC Field Hockey team.

Tadlock, who led Wesley to the CAC Championship game for the first time since joining the conference prior to the 2007 season, is the first Wolverines player to ever be selected by the coaches as the Player of the Year. She is also making her third-straight
appearance on the All-CAC first team.

Baker, a first-team All-CAC choice and one of five members of the conference champion Eagles, was selected as the 2010 Rookie of the Year. She joins 2000 co-winner Andi Sasin as the only UMW players to be named the CAC Rookie of the Year.

Hall, who guided the Eagles to the 2010 CAC championship, was named the CAC Coach of the Year for the fifth time and first time since 1994. UMW placed third in the regular season standings, but won twice in the playoffs, including a 2-0 decision over Wesley, to win the CAC title and gain the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship Tournament.

Eagles joining Baker on the first-team All-CAC squad are junior forward Morgan Jones (Williamsburg, Va./Walsingham Academy) and defender Kristin Haynor (Oakton, Va./James Madison). Baker, Jones and Haynor are all first-time All-CAC honorees.

UMW players on the second-team All-CAC squad include junior midfielder Erin Duffy (Fairfax, Va./Robinson) and senior back Heidi Sheehan (Scituate, Mass./Scituate). Sheehan is a three-time All-CAC player.

CAC regular-season champion Salisbury placed seven players on the All-CAC team, including first-team honorees sophomore forward Erica Henderson (Westover, Md./Pocomoke), senior midfielder Kandice Hancock (Westover, Md./Washington) and junior back Tara McGovern (Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Lakeland). Hancock is a two-time first-team All-CAC player who was previously picked as the conference Rookie of the Year (2007) and co-Player of the Year (2008). McGovern was the Rookie of the Year in 2008, Player of the Year in 2009 and a two-time first-team all-star.

Sea Gulls to earn second-team All-CAC nods this season were junior forward Caitlin Walker (Fallston, Md./Fallston), senior midfielder Katie Fost (Lusby, Md./Patuxent), senior back Ashley Kisner (Duncannon, Pa./Susquenita) and junior goalie Anna Cooke (Ann Arbor, Mich./Ann Arbor Pioneer). Fost is making her third-straight appearance on the second-team All-CAC squad while Walker is a second-team choice for the second-straight year.

Tadlock was one of five Wesley players tabbed for the 2010 all-conference squad. Senior back Amanda Fisher (Felton, Del./Lake Forest) and freshman midfielder Madison Leone (Dover, Del./Caesar Rodney) joined Tadlock on the top squad while senior forward Nicole Hill (Pocomoke, Md./Holly Grove) and junior midfielder Sheree Pleasanton (Smyrna, Del./Smyrna) were second-team choices. Fisher is a three-time All-CAC player.

St. Mary’s, which finished second in the regular-season standings, gained three first-team all-star nods for sophomore forward Lauriann Parker (Woodbine, Md./Glenelg), sophomore midfielder Natalie Hackstaff (Denver, Colo./St. Mary’s Academy) and senior back Allie Skiest (Arnold, Md./The Seton Keough School). Skiest is a CAC all-star for the third-straight year and Parker was the Rookie of the Year in 2009.

York also earned three all-star team berths, all on the second team. Senior Katie Dawkins (Easton, Md./Easton) gains her second-straight post-season honor while junior midfielder Brittany Simmons (Leola, Pa./Conestoga Valley) and junior back Colleen O’Rourke (Milford, N.J./Delaware Valley) are first-time All-CAC honorees.

Stevenson senior goalie Kara Zimmerman (Odenton, Md./Arundel) and senior back Natalie DiPaolo (Baltimore, Md./Perry Hall) also gained positions on the 2010 All-CAC team. Zimmerman, the top keeper in the conference this year, is a three-time all-conference pick, including twice on the top squad, while DiPaolo made her second-straight appearance on the second-team All-CAC squad.

- 30 -

2010 All-CAC Field Hockey Team
First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Erica Henderson So. For Salisbury Westover, Md./Pocomoke
Morgan Jones Jr. For Mary Washington Williamsburg, Va./Walsingham Acad.
Lauriann Parker So. For St. Mary’s Woodbine, Md./Glenelg ROY in ‘09
Brooke Tadlock Sr. For Wesley Middletown, Del./Middletown 1st in ‘09, 1st in ‘08
Kaitlin Baker Fr. Mid Mary Washington Falls Church, Va./McLean
Natalie Hackstaff So. Mid St. Mary’s Denver, Colo./St. Mary’s Academy
Kandice Hancock Sr. Mid Salisbury Westover, Md./Washington 1st & POY in ‘08, 1st & ROY in ‘07
Madison Leone Fr. Mid Wesley Dover, Del./Caesar Rodney
Amanda Fisher Sr. Back Wesley Felton, Del./Lake Forest 1st in ‘09, 2nd in ‘08
Kristin Haynor Sr. Back Mary Washington Oakton, Va./James Madison
Tara McGovern Jr. Back Salisbury Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Lakeland 1st & POY in ‘09, 1st & ROY in ‘08
Allie Skiest Sr. Back St. Mary’s Arnold, Md./The Seton Keough Sch. 1st in ‘09, 2nd in ‘08
Kara Zimmerman Jr. GK Stevenson Odenton, Md./Arundel 2nd in ‘09, 1st in ‘08

Second Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Katie Dawkins Sr. For York Easton, Md./Easton 2nd in ‘09
Nicole Hill Sr. For Wesley Pocomoke, Md./Holly Grove
Caitlin Walker Jr. For Salisbury Fallston, Md./Fallston 2nd in ‘09
Erin Duffy Jr. Mid Mary Washington Fairfax, Va./Robinson
Katie Fost Sr. Mid Salisbury Lusby, Md./Patuxent 2nd in ‘09, 2nd in ‘08
Sheree Pleasanton Jr. Mid Wesley Smyrna, Del./Smyrna
Brittany Simmons Jr. Mid York Leola, Pa./Conestoga Valley
Natalie DiPaolo Sr. Back Stevenson Baltimore, Md./Perry Hall 2nd in ‘09
Ashley Kisner Sr. Back Salisbury Duncannon, Pa./Susquenita
Colleen O’Rourke Jr. Back York Milford, N.J./Delaware Valley
Heidi Sheehan Sr. Back Mary Washington Scituate, Mass./Scituate 1st in ‘09, 1st in ‘08
Anna Cooke Jr. GK Salisbury Ann Arbor, Mich./Ann Arbor Pioneer

2010 CAC Player of the Year: Brooke Tadlock, Wesley
2010 CAC Rookie of the Year: Caitlin Baker, Mary Washington
2010 CAC Coach of the Year: Dana Hall, Mary Washington (fifth time, also in 1991-94)