UMW's Rod Wood Named as One of 12 Finalists for Glenn Robinson NCAA Division III Coach of the Year


BOSTON, MA -- The twelve finalists for the 2014 Glenn Robinson award were
announced on Friday.

The finalists include Terry Butterfield (Texas-Dallas), Jeff Charney (SUNY
Purchase), Greg Dunne (Brockport State), Gary Grzesk (St. Norbert), David
Hixon (Amherst), Jerry Kobasa (Wesley), Gerry Matthews (Richard Stockton),
Pat Miller (UW-Whitewater), Mitch Oliver (Albertus Magnus), Alan Seretti
(Dickinson), Rod Wood (Mary Washington) and Jason Zimmerman (Emory).

The award is presented annually to the top division III men's basketball
coach. Named after the longtime Franklin & Marshall coach, Robinson has
over 800 wins and is currently twelfth on the all-time wins list.

He took Franklin & Marshall to NCAA Division III tournament 22 times
and guided the Diplomats to the Division III Final Four in 1979, 1991,
1996, 2000 and 2009.

The winner of the 2014 Robinson award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the
Division I Men's Basketball Championship.