Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW's Dick, Dacey Named to All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

UMW's Dick, Dacey Named to All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

YORK, Pa. - University of Mary Washington junior attacker Luke Dick was named as a first team selection to the 2013 All-Capital Athletic Conference men's lacrosse team on Wednesday, and senior middie Sean Dacey was named to the second team by the league's coaches.

York sophomore Tyler Hutson (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) became the first men’s lacrosse player in conference history to win the CAC Player of the Year award the year after being selected by the coaches as the Rookie of the Year.

Hutson, one of six players from the second-place Spartans to earn all-conference recognition this season, picked up his second-straight first-team All-CAC nod. He joins Salisbury’s Jeff Bigas (2002 Rookie, 2005 Player) as the only players to win both men’s lacrosse awards. Hutson is also the first Spartan to be named men’s lacrosse Player of the Year.

Hutson and junior midfielder Seth Krolus (Westminster, Md./Loyola Blakefield) were picked by the conference coaches as first-team all-stars while senior defender Justin Gordon (Baltimore, Md./Archbishop Curley), junior midfielder James Lowe (Monrovia, Md./Urbana), sophomore short stick specialist Drew Thomas (Limerick, Pa./Spring-Ford) and freshman goalie Caleb Abney (Forest Hill, Md./Fallston) were York’s second-team all-stars.

The Frostburg State combination of freshman attack Spencer Love (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) and coach Tommy Pearce secured the votes for the Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year awards, respectively. Love joins junior teammate Ryan Serio (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake) as Bobcats to win the Rookie of the Year award. Pearce, who started the FSU program three years ago, won the Coach of the Year award for the first time.

Bobcats joining Serio on the All-CAC second team were junior long pole Korey Bosley (York, Pa./York) and sophomore defenders Zack Burkhardt (Baltimore, Md./Eastern Tech) and Paul Newman (Pasadena, Md./Archbishop Spalding).

Two-time defending national champion Salisbury, which is ranked No. 8 in the country this season and will host the CAC title game Sunday (5/5) at 1 p.m., placed 11 players on the 29-player All-CAC team.

Seven Sea Gulls were named first-team all-stars in 2013, including senior midfielder Eric Kluge (North East, Md./North East), senior defender Brett Baer (Manchester, Md./Westminster), junior defender Josh Martin (Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna), senior face off specialist Tyler Granelli (North Salem, N.Y./John Jay), freshman short stick specialist Preston Dabbs (St. Mary’s City, Md./St. Mary’s Ryken), junior long pole Zeke Smith (Frederick, Md./Walkersville) and junior goalie Alex Taylor (Woodbine, Md./Glenelg).

Granelli was named to the All-CAC team for the third-straight year, including his second-straight first-team appearance, while Smith and Taylor were second-team all-stars in 2012.

Second-team all-stars for the Sea Gulls include junior attack Rhett DePol (Chester, Md./St. Mary’s), junior midfielders Greg Korvin (Odenton, Md./Arundel) and Tyler Smith (Madison, N.J./Madison) along with sophomore defender Knute Kraus (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Tesoro). All are first-time All-CAC honorees.

St. Mary’s, which finished third in the CAC regular-season but advanced to Sunday’s CAC title match at Salisbury, earned five All-CAC awards, including senior attack Patrick Mull (Fallston, Md./Fallston), senior defender Justin Harty (Medford Lakes, N.J./Camden Catholic) and sophomore midfielder Matt Tarrant (Mount Airy, Md./Urbana) on the first team. Mull moved up from his position on the 2012 All-CAC second team.

Junior attack Ben Love (Owings Mills, Md./McDonogh) and senior face off specialist Albert Mitchell (Shrewsbury, Mass./Saint John’s) represented the Seahawks on the 2013 All-CAC second team. Mitchell is a second-team all-star for the second-straight season.

Mary Washington picked up All-CAC awards for junior attack Luke Dick (Annapolis, Md./Archbishop Spalding) on the first team and senior midfielder Sean Dacey (Round Hill, Va./Loudoun Valley) on the second team.

Also earning his first all-conference award is Wesley senior Michael McQuarrie (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright), who was picked by the coaches as a second-team All-CAC face off specialist.