Five UMW Men's Soccer Players Named to All-CAC Teams; Gordon named Co-Coach of the Year

Five UMW Men's Soccer Players Named to All-CAC Teams; Gordon named Co-Coach of the Year
Salisbury senior forward Kyle Sterling was named to the Capital Athletic Conference all-star team
for the third-straight year, but added to his trophy case with his first Player of the Year award, and Stevenson freshman Ansger Otto was picked as a first-team all-star and Rookie of the Year, to lead the 2009 All-CAC Men’s Soccer team.
Sterling, the seventh Sea Gull to be named CAC Men’s Soccer Player of the Year since 1996, is one of seven Salisbury players named to the 2009 All-CAC squad. He was joined on the first team by senior midfielder Alex Hargrove and senior defender Justin McGrath. Hargrove gained his second-straight first-team nod by the CAC coaches while McGrath is a three-time first-team all-star.
The Sea Gulls, who won the 2009 CAC regular-season title and will compete this week in the NCAA Championship Tournament for the third-straight year, placed four players on the All-CAC second team, including junior forward Chris Finney, senior forward Nick Malone and junior defenders Justin Lambert and Casey Rector. 

Otto is the first Stevenson player to be named CAC Rookie of the Year and the second from the program to earn first-team All-CAC honors. Goalkeeper Eric Lowman was picked as a first-team all-star in 2007, the first year Stevenson (then-called Villa Julie) was a member of the CAC. 

Otto was one of four All-CAC honorees for the Mustangs, who advanced to the 2009 CAC Championship match and gained an ECAC playoff berth. Second-team All-CAC honors were awarded to sophomore defender Samuel Bryant and sophomore keeper Ryan Flannelly. 

The fourth post-season honoree for Stevenson was John Plevyak, who was named the CAC Co-Coach of the Year with Mary Washington veteran mentor Roy Gordon. It is the first Coach of the Year award for Plevyak while Gordon collects the honor for the eighth time since the inception of the CAC in 1991. 

Five of Gordon’s UMW players were named to the All-CAC team. Senior keeper Emmett Rutkowski (Culpeper, Va., Culpeper), senior defender Peter Toohey (Newton, Mass., Newton North) and freshman midfielder Duke Mensah-Abrampah (Gainesville, Va., Battlefield) were all selected as first-team all-stars while forwards T.L. Tutor (Islesboro, Me., Gould Academy) and Will Gallop (Charlottesville, Va., Charlottesville) were second-team picks. Tutor, a second-team choice in 2008, is the only returning all-star for the Eagles. 

York, which finished second in the regular season standings, won the conference playoff title and earned its fifth straight trip to the NCAA Tournament, was rewarded by the CAC coaches with a conference-best eight positions on the all-star team. 

Two-time CAC Player of the Year, senior midfielder Jon Ports (2007-08), was named to the first team for the third-straight year. He was joined on the first team by forwards Mike O’Connell, Kemal Nuspahic and defender Adam Good. Nuspahic was the 2008 Rookie of the Year and a first-team all-star. Representing York on the All-CAC second team are midfielders Lucas Emil, Mike Gill, Travis Williams and defender Scott Becker. Emil was a first team all-star in 2008. 

St. Mary’s players gained two nods on the 2009 All-CAC second team, including sophomore forward Ted Scharfenberg and sophomore midfielder Brian Payne, both first-time all-stars. 

2009 All-CAC Men’s Soccer Team
First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Kemal Nuspahic So. For York East Petersburg, Pa./Hempfield 1st & ROY in ‘08
Mike O’Connell Jr. For York Bowie, Md./Archbishop Spalding
Ansger Otto Fr. For Stevenson Willingboro, N.J./Willingboro
Kyle Sterling Sr. For Salisbury Salisbury, Md./James M. Bennett 1st in ‘08, 1st in ‘07
Alex Hargrove Sr. Mid Salisbury Clarks Summit, Pa./Abington Heights 1st in ‘08
Duke Mensah-Abrampah Fr. Mid Mary Washington Gainesville, Va./Battlefield
Jon Ports Sr. Mid York Baltimore, Md./McDonogh 1st & POY in ‘08, 1st & POY in ‘07
Adam Good Jr. Def York Elizabethtown, Pa./Elizabethtown
Justin McGrath Sr. Def Salisbury Perry Hall, Md./Perry Hall 1st in ‘08, 1st in ‘07
Peter Toohey Sr. Def Mary Washington Newton, Mass./Newton North
Emmett Rutkowski Sr. GK Mary Washington Culpeper, Va./Culpeper
Second Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Chris Finney Jr. For Salisbury Columbia, Md./Oakland Mills
Will Gallop So. For Mary Washington Charlottesville, Va./Charlottesville
Nick Malone Sr. For Salisbury Salisbury, Md./James M. Bennett
Ted Scharfenberg So. For St. Mary’s Holbrook, N.Y./St. John The Baptist
T.L. Tutor Jr. For Mary Washington Islesboro, Maine/Gould Academy 2nd in ‘08
Lucas Emil Jr. Mid York Parsippany, N.J./Morris Catholic 1st in ‘08
Mike Gill So. Mid York Baltimore, Md./Archbishop Spalding
Brian Payne So. Mid St. Mary’s Baltimore, Md./Calvert Hall College
Travis Williams Sr. Mid York Springfield, Pa./Springfield Twp.
Scott Becker Sr. Def York Hockessin, Del./Salesianum
Samuel Bryant So. Def Stevenson Burlington Twp., N.J./Burlington Twp.
Justin Lambert Jr. Def Salisbury Silver Spring, Md./Paint Branch
Casey Rector Jr. Def Salisbury Ellicott City, Md./Loyola Blakesfield
Ryan Flannelly So. GK Stevenson Middlesex, N.J./Middlesex
2009 CAC Player of the Year: Kyle Sterling, Salisbury
2009 CAC Rookie of the Year: Ansger Otto, Stevenson
2009 CAC Co-Coaches of the Year: Roy Gordon, Mary Washington (8th time, also 1991-93; 1995-97; 2001)
John Plevyak, Stevenson (first time)