Heller Named to VaSID Men's Soccer All-State Second Team

Heller Named to VaSID Men's Soccer All-State Second Team

Bridgewater, Va. – Randolph College standout Corey Sindle was named the 2013 VaSID College Division Men's Soccer Player of the Year and his coach Bryan Waggoner was selected Coach of the Year in voting by the state's sports information directors. Virginia Wesleyan's Kyle Fisher was chosen as Rookie of the Year. 

Sindle capped off a stellar career with the WildCats with a strong senior season. The Randolph striker scored 17 goals and added seven assists to finish with 41 points on the season. He was named the ODAC Player of the Year and was a three-time first-team all-conference selection. This also marks the third time Sindle has been named to theAll-State first team. 

Waggoner led the WildCats to the best record in the ODAC as the team finished 10-1 in conference play. Randolph finished with a 17-2 overall record. 

Fisher was the second-leading scorer for the high-powered Virginia Wesleyan attack and helped lead the Marlins to the ODAC title. He finished the season with nine goals and one assist. 

Four players – Christopher Newport's Jalon Brown and Alec Faulkner, Washington and Lee's Zach Colby and Randolph's Sindle - are repeat selections on the all-state first team. 

Rounding out the first team are midfielders John Adams (Randolph), Caleb Lewis (Christopher Newport), Brian Cornell (Virginia Wesleyan) and Asa Fox (Ferrum); defenders Joao Downs (Eastern Mennonite) and Will Wolf (Randolph) and goalkeeper Jonathan Sheffield (Lynchburg). 

Ten programs were represented on this year's All-State squad with CNU leading the way with six players honored. Randolph placed four players on the team and W&L had three selections. 

VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a University or conference in the state of Virginia. 


VaSID College Division Player of the Year – Corey Sindle, Randolph

VaSID College Division Coach of the Year – Bryan Waggoner, Randolph

VaSID College Division Rookie of the Year – Kyle Fisher, Virginia Wesleyan


All-State First Team

F – Corey Sindle, Sr., Randolph College

F – Jalon Brown, Jr. Christopher Newport University

F – Zach Colby, Jr., Washington and Lee University

M – John Adams, Sr., Randolph College

M – Caleb Lewis, Sr., Christopher Newport University

M – Asa Fox, Sr., Ferrum College

M – Brian Cornell, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan College

D – Joao Downs,  Jr., Eastern Mennonite University

D – Will Wolf, Sr., Randolph College

D – Alec Faulkner, Jr., Christopher Newport University

GK – Jonathan Sheffield, Sr., Lynchburg College


All-State Second Team

F – Jacob Lusczek, Sr., Randolph College

F – Ryan Balfour, So., Christopher Newport University

F – Aaron Gustine, Sr., Ferrum College

M – Ben Lewis, So., Bridgewater College

M – Jimmy Grace, Fr. Christopher Newport University

M – Tyler Carbaugh, So. Roanoke College

D – Patrick Barry, Fr. Washington and Lee University

D – Josh Hinkle, Jr., Lynchburg College

D – Tommy O'Neal, Jr., Christopher Newport University

D - David Heller, Jr., University of Mary Washington

GK – Albert Civitarese, Jr., Washington and Lee University