UMW Men's Swimming Captures 13th Straight CAC Championship; 19th Overall

The University of Mary Washington men's swimming team captured its 13th consecutive Capital Athletic Conference championship on Sunday night, and 19th in the 23-year history of the conference. The Eagles easily outdistanced the field, winning every race in Sunday's finals.

On Sunday night, freshman Zach Eisig led the way with a first-place finish in the mile at 16:31.06, an NCAA provisional qualifying time. Teammate Andrew Garofolo finished second. Senior Nick Eckhoff continued his great championship with a first place finish in the 200 yard backstroke at 1:50.54, leading four Eagles to place in the top five.

Sophomore Matt Arnold took first in the 100 yard freestyle at 47.09, as the Eagles again had four of the top five finishers. Senior Peter Slattery took first in the 200 breaststroke at 2:07.12, and Alex Anderson again stole the show, this time in the 200 yard butterfly, where smashed the CAC and school record by five seconds, gaining an automatic NCAA bid at 1:46.21. The Eagles finished 1-2-3 in the event.

The Eagles capped the night and the weekend by winning the 400 freestyle relay and breaking the conference record by five full seconds, finishing at 3:03.51. That relay included Anderson, Eckhoff, Matt Garstka, and Matt Arnold. The time is also a strong NCAA provisional cut.

Anderson was named the CAC Swimmer of the Year in an easy decision. The sophomore broke four individual and four relay records and qualified for NCAA Championships automatically in four events and provisionally in three relays.

100 fly - A cut, new CAC and school record
200 fly - A cut, new CAC and school record
50 freestyle - A cut, CAC and school record
200 freestyle - A cut, new CAC and school record
200 free relay - new CAC record
400 free relay - B cut, CAC and school record
800 free relay - B cut, new CAC and school record
400 medley relay - B cut, new CAC and school record

Men's Standings
1. UMW - 1028
2. SMC - 656
3. YCP - 407
4. SAL - 403
5. MU - 244
6. FSU - 152