March 29, 2010

UMW Rowers Open Spring Season at Occoquan Sprints

The University of Mary Washington men's and women's rowing teams opene the 2010 spring season at the Occoquan Sprint regatta at Sandy Run State Park on Sunday.

The men's varsity four took first in their heat with a time of 6:42.40. That boat included Jennifer Arndt (Ruther Glen, Va., Bedford), Connor Murphy (Richmond, Va., James River), William Bennett (Gloucester, Va., Gloucester), Kelley Wheaton (Woodbridge, Va., Woodbridge), and Patrick Wood (Springfield, Va., West Springfield).

The women's lightweight varsity four took 3rd in the final with a time of 8:43.71. That boat was manned by Hannah Laughlin (Chesapeake, Va., Hickory), Emily Webber (Alexandria, Va., Thomas A. Edison), Casey Heigh (Fairfax, Va., W.T. Woodson), Sarah Tagg (Herndon, Va., Herndon), and Diana Pistochini (Springfield, Va., West Springfield).

The men's JV eight took fourth in the final with a time of 6:59.32. Ariel Raguso (Chantilly, Va., Westfield), Ron McLaurin (Georgetown, Texas, Georgetown), Taylor Eidt (Denver, Colo., Chapparal), Michael Winkler (McLean, Va., Bishop O'Connell), Dakota Springston (Arlington, Va., Washington-Lee), William Kyle (Nokesville, Va., Brentsville District), Robert Tyszka (Galloway, N.J., Absegami), David Haddad (Suffolk, Va., Chesapeake Bay Academy), and John Jolissaint (Fort Meade, Md., Peninsula Catholic).

The women's varsity eight finished fourth in the petite final at 6:46.05. That boat included Gina Ranfone (Arlington, Va., Yorktown), Stephanie Lefferts (Naples, Fla., Barron Collier), Karolyn Milton (Fredericksburg, Va., Tallwood), Amanda Hartzell (Centreville, Va., Westfield), Elisabeth Hancock (Eagle Rock, Va., James River), Anne Campbell (Lexington Park, Md., Great Mills), Jessica Pryor (South Plainfield, N.J., South Plainfield), Eva Campbell (Fredericksburg, Va., Cypress Bay (Fla.))Morgan DePaulo (Chatham, Va., Chatham Hall). The B boat in the event took first in the third level final at 7:14.31.

The men's varsity eight finished sixth in the final with a time of 6:03.39. Zimmerman, Murphy, Cushman, Russell, Tyler, Bennett, Cowley, and Wheaton manned the oars for the Eagles in that race.

Both teams will be back in action on April 10-11 at the Knecht Cup in Camden, N.J..