Applebury Honored as VaSID State Coach of the Year; Wimmer, McRae Named to First Team

Applebury Honored as VaSID State Coach of the Year; Wimmer, McRae Named to First Team

FERRUM, Va. -- The 2012 VaSID College Division Women's Basketball All-State Team has been announced, with UMW head coach Deena Applebury adding to her awards recognition by being named the state's College Division Coach of the Year.

Additionally, Virginia Wesleyan College's Sarah Seipp has earned Rookie of the Year, while Marymount's Kaitlyn Fischer was given Player of the Year honors.

Fischer averaged 17.7 points and 6.6 rebounds per game this season for the Saints. She shot .419 behind the arc and .860 from the free throw line, leading Marymount to a 14-13 record.

Seipp averaged 14.6 points and 5.2 rebounds this season for Virginia Wesleyan. She helped lead the Marlins to a 22-6 overall record, including a 17-3 mark in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, and was the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

Applebury led Mary Washington to a 30-1 record, advancing the NCAA Tournament sectional final before the Eagles lost their first game of the season. The Eagles won the Capital Athletic Conference regular season and tournament titles. Applebury was the CAC Coach of the Year and was a finalist for WBCA National Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Fischer on the All-State first team are Katie Wimmer and Jenna McRae from Mary Washington, Jessica Mullen from Bridgewater College and Tesla Akers from Ferrum College.  The complete All-State eam is listed below.

Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Katelyn Fischer, Marymount
Coach of the Year: Deena Applebury, Mary Washington
Rookie of the Year: Sarah Seipp, Virginia Wesleyan

First Team
Katelyn Fischer, Marymount
Katie Wimmer, Mary Washington
Tesla Akers, Ferrum
Jenna McRae, Mary Washington
Jessica Mullen, Bridgewater

Second Team
Kristen Keith, Ferrum
Bianca Ygarza, Eastern Mennonite
Nicole Baker, Southern Virginia
Rebecca Bolton, Washington & Lee
Taylor Wieczorek, Randolph Macon