Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW's Kennedy, Hall Lead 2012 VaSID All-State Women's Lacrosse Team

UMW's Kennedy, Hall Lead 2012 VaSID All-State Women's Lacrosse Team

LYNCHBURG, VA – Catherine Kennedy, a midfielder from the University of Mary Washington, was voted the 2012 All-State College Division Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year, as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).  Kennedy's coach, Dana Hall, was named the All-State Coach of the Year and Darragh Evarts from Roanoke College earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Kennedy, a senior, scored 62 goals and assisted on 17 others for 79 points for the Eagles. The four-time All-American, including a second-team award this spring, earned first-team All-Chesapeake region and All-Capital Athletic Conference honors. Kennedy ends her career as the program's all-time career leader in goals (299) and total points (387).

Hall led Mary Washington to a 14-5 record and her team advanced to NCAA Tournament's second round. The Eagles finished with a 6-0 record against Virginia Division III schools this season and ranked as high as #10 in the nation.
Evarts, the 2012 Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Rookie of the Year, scored 53 goals and assisted on 12 tallies from her midfield position. The two-way player added 50 ground balls, 61 draw controls and 33 caused turnovers for the Maroons and was an All-ODAC First-Team selection. 
Mary Washington was well represented with three student-athletes named to the first-team, while Washington & Lee University, Lynchburg College, Shenandoah University and Roanoke each had two.
2012 All-State Women's Lacrosse College Division All-State Team

Player of the Year: Catherine Kennedy, University of Mary Washington
Rookie of the Year: Darragh Evarts, Roanoke College
Coach of the Year: Dana Hall, University of Mary Washington
Allison Bonanno, Roanoke College
Lesley Buckingham, Lynchburg College
Allie Kimmelman, Mary Washington
Ashton Marshall, Christopher Newport University
Christina Benedetti, Washington & Lee University
Catherine Kennedy, Mary Washington
Samantha Sisson, Shenandoah University
Elizabeth Hartge, Roanoke
Brianna LaMarca, Lynchburg
Katie Mastropaolo, Mary Washington
Leanne Stone, Washington & Lee
Ashley Cross, Shenandoah
Kendall Adkin, Lynchburg
Brooke Hewartson, Ferrum College
Alli Shearin, Washington & Lee
Darragh Evarts, Roanoke
Lauren King, Christopher Newport
Kathleen Wager, Roanoke
Julie Will, Lynchburg
Jenny Atmar, Mary Washington
Monica Evans, Christopher Newport
Chanci Wright, Hollins University
Caroline Baker, Sweet Briar
Cara Mulligan, Washington & Lee