UMW's Kennedy Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

UMW's Kennedy Named to Tewaaraton Watch List
University of Mary Washington senior lacrosse player Catherine Kennedy has been named just one of three Division III players named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, as was released on Wednesday. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award. This year's list has 64 schools represented, which is a record high.

"We are particularly excited with the number of schools represented in this year's Watch List, which is a strong indication of the growth of the sport and the excitement that the Award creates throughout the lacrosse world" said Jeff Harvey, Chairman of the Tewaaraton Award.

The Selection Committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed each year by the Tewaaraton Award. "Our selection committees have a passion for this Award and these Watch List players should know that this is a distinction that only the best coaches could provide," said Sarah Aschenbach, Executive Director of the Tewaaraton Award.

The Selection Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot along side these elite players. In late April, both lists will be narrowed to 25 and these men and women will earn the distinction of Tewaaarton Nominees. In mid-May, the 5 Finalists in each category will be announced. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31st, at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington DC.

For information on the Award and to purchase tickets to the event, go to

2012 Tewaaraton Award Women's Watch List
Lindsay Abbott, Midfield - SUNY Cortland
Casey Ancarrow, Attack - James Madison University
Kelly Barnes, Defense - Georgetown University
Erin Brennan, Attack - University of Pennsylvania
Brittany Brigandi, Midfield - Le Moyne College
Ashley Bruns, Attack - University of Florida
Dana Cahill, Goalie - Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield - Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack - University of Florida
Taylor D'Amore, Attack - Johns Hopkins University
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield - University of Florida
Lindsey deButts, Defense - Princeton University
Alexa Demski, Defense - Towson University
Jasmine DePompeo, Attack - United States Naval Academy
Erica Devito, Midfield - Adelphi University
Brittany Dipper, Goalie - University of Maryland
Danielle Etrasco, Attack - Boston University
Charlie Finnigan, Attack - University of Virginia
Mary Flowers, Midfield - University of Richmond
Julie Gardner, Midfield - University of Virginia
Kristen Giovanniello, Goalie - Dartmouth College
Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University
Ana Heneberry, Defense - Loyola University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland
Catherine Kennedy, Attack – University of Mary Washington
Alyssa Kildare, Defense - Johns Hopkins University
Emily Leitner, Goalie - University of Pennsylvania
Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina
Mollie Mackler, Goalie - Duke University
Alayna Markwordt, Attack - Ohio State University
Leigh Mitchell, Midfield - The College of New Jersey
Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia
Ariana Parker, Midfield - University at Albany
Marlee Paton, Midfield - Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield - Dartmouth College
Cassie Pyle, Midfield - Princeton University
Iliana Sanza, Defense - University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield - Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Attack - Cormell University
Kerry Stoothoff, Goalie - Loyola University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack - University of Notre Dame
Danielle Tetreault, Midfield - Harvard University
Kat Thomas, Midfield - Duke University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield - Georgetown University
Taylor Thornton, Defense - Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack - Syracuse University
Jennifer VanderMeulen, Attack - Harvard University
Katie Webster, Midfield - Syracuse University
Brittany Wilton, Attack - Boston College
Laura Zimmerman, Attack - University of North Carolina

About The Tewaaraton Award: The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation taking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. The Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American The University Club of Washington, DC heritage. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. To honor the heritage of the sport, the Award presents two annual scholarships to students of American Indian decent. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse players and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse.