Catullo Named VaSID State College Division Coach of the Year as All-State Team Announced

Catullo Named VaSID State College Division Coach of the Year as All-State Team Announced

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Washington & Lee University junior Sonja Meighan (McLean, Va./Flint Hill) has been named as the 2014 Virginia State Women's Tennis College Division Player of the Year by the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association, as the All-State team was announced on Friday. University of Mary Washington head coach Patrick Catullo was named the state Coach of the Year, and Emory & Henry College freshman Stella DiMichele (San Remo, Italy) was named as the state's Rookie of the Year.

Meighan collected State POY honors after gaining ODAC Player of the Year honors for the third-consecutive year after claiming a 21-3 overall record in singles and a 21-5 mark in doubles this campaign. Earlier this season, she won the ITA Southeast Regional Championship in both singles and doubles to earn ITA All-America accolades. She is currently ranked second in the Atlantic South region in singles and teams up with Patricia Kirkland to rank fifth in the region in doubles.

Catullo repeats as State Coach of the Year after leading Mary Washington to the 2014 NCAA Tournament third round with an 18-8 record. The Eagles were CAC Champions for the 11th straight year, and advanced to NCAA Tournament for the 16th straight year.

DiMichele gains Rookie of the Year honors after she gained ODAC Rookie of the Year and an All-ODAC First Team accolades. She went 16-1 on the year, losing only to Meighan. She helped the Wasps reach the ODAC Tournament for the first time since the 2009 season.

Washington & Lee, who finished 18-3 on the year and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament, led all schools with three doubles teams and five individuals named to the all-state teams. Mary Washington followed with one doubles team and four singles players on the teams, while Emory & Henry, Bridgewater, and Christopher Newport also earned selections on the squads.

Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Sonja Meighan, Washington & Lee
Rookie of the Year: Stella Di Michele, Emory & Henry
Coach of the year: Patrick Catullo, Mary Washington

First Team Doubles
Sonja Meighan/Patricia Kirkland, Washington & Lee
Lindsey Raulston/Shelby Harris, Mary Washington
Meghan Buell/Chelsea Mixson, Washington & Lee
First Team Singles
Sonja Meighan, Washington & Lee
Lindsey Raulston, Mary Washington
Stella Di Michele, Emory & Henry
Meghan Buell, Washington & Lee
Maria Hawkins, Bridgewater
Brooke Donnelly, Washington & Lee
Second Team Doubles
Katie Gordon/Maria Hawkins, Bridgewater
Claire Cahill/Brooke Donnelly, Washington & Lee
Stella Di Michele/Lauren Riner, Emory & Henry
Second Team Singles
Shelby Harris, Mary Washington
Mackenzie Smith, Mary Washington
Chelsea Mixson, Washington & Lee
Logan Eldridge, Christopher Newport
Alex Ritter, Mary Washington
Mary Elizabeth Shutley, Washington & Lee