Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five UMW Field Hockey Players Named to 2017 All-CAC Team

Five UMW Field Hockey Players Named to 2017 All-CAC Team

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. - Salisbury senior Tressie Windsor and the Christopher Newport duo of freshman Courtney Fiest and head coach Carrie Moura collected major awards to highlight the 2017 All-CAC Field Hockey Team. 

Windsor, a goalkeeper, becomes the second-straight and 16th overall Sea Gull to capture Player of the Year honors. Windsor's former teammate Hannah Miller won the award last fall for SU. She is also the first-ever goalkeeper to receive the Player of the Year award. Windsor earned all-conference honors for the second-straight season, moving up to the first team after earning second-team accolades in 2016. 

Fiest, a forward, is the second CNU player to receive Rookie of the Year honors, joining teammate Brittan Muir (2015 co-winner) as top newcomers to the CAC. She was also named to the All-CAC second team. 

Moura was named by her peers as CAC Coach of the Year for the second time after guiding the Captains to a perfect 6-0 CAC regular season and their first-ever conference title. She also picked up Coach of the Year honors in 2013. 

CNU led the All-CAC team with a conference-leading eight all-stars. Junior forward Rachael Allshouse and senior back Alexa Weaver were repeat first-team honorees, while junior Courtnie Greene also landed on the first team, the first all-star nod of her career. 

Five Captains made their way onto the All-CAC second team, with junior back Brittan Muir and sophomore midfielder Rachel Cooke leading the way as repeat all-stars. Muir was a second-team in 2016 and a first-teamer and Co-Rookie of the Year in 2015, while Cooke also earned second-team honors in 2016. Fiest, senior back Mackenzie Neylon, and senior goalkeeper Stephanie McKinney also nabbed second-team accolades for CNU. 

Salisbury and York each placed six players on the all-conference squad. In addition to Windsor, Salisbury sophomore back Jillian Hughes, sophomore back Lindsey Elgin, junior forward Emily Lemanski, and sophomore midfielder Arielle Johnston collected first-team awards. Hughes was a first-team selection and Rookie of the Year in 2016, while Elgin, Lemanski, and Johnston claimed All-CAC honors for the first time. Senior forward Natalie Wilkinson represented the Sea Gulls on the second team. 

For York, senior midfielder Ali Posey, senior forward Autumn Mallory, and sophomore forward Greta Plappert secured first-team awards. Posey closes her career as a four-time first-team all-star along with earning Rookie of the Year in 2014. Mallory earned back-to-back All-CAC honors after landing on the second team last fall. 

Second-teamers for the Spartans included junior midfielder Lindsay Nye, junior back Jennifer Morrissette, and freshman midfielder Dana Meehling. Nye was a first-team pick in 2016 and Co-Rookie of the Year in 2015, while Morrissette and Meehling are first-time all-stars. 

Mary Washington grabbed five spots on the all-conference team, including four repeat all-stars. Senior midfielder Allegra Massey-Elim and senior back Erin Kaila were first-team selections for the Eagles. Kaila closes her career with back-to-back first-team honors, while Massey-Elim was a second-team all-star last fall. UMW sophomore forwards Lexie Dixson (2nd in '16) and Lauren Hopkins (1st in '16) earned their second-straight all-conference awards as members of the second team, while senior midfielder Noor Varjabedianpicked up the first all-star nod of her career for the Eagles. 

Wesley junior back Kasey Fry represented the Wolverines on the All-CAC team as a second-team selection. 

2017 CAC Player of the Year: Tressie Windsor, Salisbury
2017 CAC Rookie of the Year: Courtney Fiest, Christopher Newport
2017 CAC Coach of the Year:  Carrie Moura, Christopher Newport (2nd time; also in 2013) 

2017 All-CAC Field Hockey First Team

Rachael Allshouse Jr. For Christopher Newport Annandale, Va./Annandale 1st in '16
Emily Lemanski Jr. For Salisbury Severn, Md./Seton Keough  
Autumn Mallory Sr. For York Leonardtown, Md./Leonardtown 2nd in '16
Greta Plappert So. For York York, Pa./Central York  
Courtnie Greene Jr. Mid Christopher Newport Gloucester, Va./Gloucester  
Arielle Johnston So. Mid Salisbury Crisfield, Md./Crisfield  
Allegra Massey-Elim Sr. Mid Mary Washington Fredericksburg, Va./Fredericksburg Acad. 2nd in '16
Ali Posey Sr. Mid York Airville, Pa./Red Lion 1st in '16, 1st in '15, 1st & ROY in '14
Lindsey Elgin So. Back Salisbury Chestertown, Md./Kent County  
Jillian Hughes So. Back Salisbury Andover, Mass./Andover 1st & ROY in '16
Erin Kaila Sr. Back Mary Washington Fredericksburg, Va./Massaponax 1st in '16
Alexa Weaver Sr. Back Christopher Newport Seaford, Va./York 1st in '16
Tressie Windsor Sr. GK Salisbury Delmar, Md./Delmar 2nd in '16












2017 All-CAC Field Hockey Second Team

Lexie Dixson So. For Mary Washington Landenberg, Pa./Avon Grove 2nd in '16
Courtney Fiest Fr. For Christopher Newport Yorktown, Va./Tabb  
Lauren Hopkins So. For Mary Washington Virginia Beach, Va./Kempsville 1st in '16
Natalie Wilkinson Sr. For Salisbury Morgantown, Pa./Twin Valley  
Rachel Cooke So. Mid Christopher Newport Vienna, Va./James Madison 2nd in '16
Dana Meehling Fr. Mid York Monkton, Md./Hereford  
Lindsay Nye Jr. Mid York Duncannon, Pa./Susquenita 1st in '16, Co-ROY in '15
Noor Varjabedian Sr. Mid Mary Washington Falls Church, Va./McLean  
Kasey Fry Jr. Back Wesley Houston, Del./Milford  
Jennifer Morrissette Jr. Back York Chambersburg, Pa./Chambersburg  
Brittan Muir Jr. Back Christopher Newport Springfield, Va./West Springfield 2nd in '16, 1st & Co-ROY in '15
Mackenzie Neylon Sr. Back Christopher Newport Fredericksburg, Va./Chancellor  
Stephanie McKinney Sr. GK Christopher Newport Virginia Beach, Va./First Colonial