Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Massey-Elim, Kaila, Hopkins Named to VaSID All-State College Division Field Hockey Team

Massey-Elim, Kaila, Hopkins Named to VaSID All-State College Division Field Hockey Team

FERRUM, Va. – Courtnie Greene and Carrie Moura from Christopher Newport University have been named Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, on the 2017 College Division Field Hockey All-State Team, as named by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). Jackie Lerro of Lynchburg College collected Rookie of the Year honors.

Greene earned All-American second team honors from the NFHCA, along with All-Region first team and All-Conference first team from the Capital Athletic Conference. She anchored the Captains' midfield unit while serving as the team's leading two-way player, finishing with eight assists and 20 points.

Moura was the CAC Coach of the Year this season, leading CNU to league's regular season and tournament titles. The Captains advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16, and finished the year ranked 4th in the final NFHCA National Coaches Poll with a 17-2 record. Moura picked up her 200th career victory Sept. 17 against Rhodes College.

Lerro was the 2017 Old Dominion Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year and a first-team All-Conference selection. She led the league in goals (28) and game-winners (9). She also finished fifth in the nation in goals per game (1.4) and eighth in points per game (2.95), the top freshman nationally in both categories.

Joining Greene on the All-State first team were CNU teammates Rachael Allshouse, Alexa Weaver and Stephanie McKinney. Lynchburg's Nikki Simpao joined Lerro on the first team, while Mary Washington had a pair of first team selections in Allegra Massey-Elim and Erin Kaila. Rounding out the first team were Haley Tucker of Washington and Lee University and Kaylin Stenson of Roanoke College. The complete team is listed below.



2017 VaSID College Division Field Hockey Al-State Team


Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Courtnie Greene, Christopher Newport         

Rookie of the Year: Jackie Lerro, Lynchburg

Coach of the Year: Carrie Moura, Christopher Newport 


First Team

F – Rachael Allshouse, Christopher Newport

F – Jackie Lerro, Lynchburg

F – Haley Tucker, Washington and Lee

MF – Emily Augsburger, Eastern Mennonite

MF – Courtnie Greene, Christopher Newport

MF – Allegra Massey-Elim, Mary Washington

MF – Nikki Simpao, Lynchburg

D – Erin Kaila, Mary Washington

D – Kaylin Stenson, Roanoke

D – Alexa Weaver, Christopher Newport

GK – Stephanie McKinney, Christopher Newport


Second Team

F – Courtney Fiest, Christopher Newport

F – Lauren Paolano, Washington and Lee

F – Emilee Wooten, Roanoke College

MF – Lauren Hopkins, Mary Washington

MF – Sierra Magdaleno, Ferrum

MF – Maggie Sands, Washington and Lee

D – Laura Gretz, Bridgewater

D – Hannah Krause, Lynchburg

D – Brittan Muir, Christopher Newport

D – Morgan Payne, Shenandoah

GK – Emma Clark, Roanoke