Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW Men's Swim Team Captures 18th Straight CAC Championship

UMW Men's Swim Team Captures 18th Straight CAC Championship

The University of Mary Washington men's swim team won its 18th straight Capital Athletic Conference Championship on Sunday at St. Mary's City, Md. The Eagles finished with 905.5 points, as York finished second with 743 points, Salisbury third with 485, St. Mary's fourth at 366.5, Frostburg fifth at 331, and Marymount sixth at 252. UMW head coach Abby Brethauer was named the CAC Coach of the Year.

On Sunday in finals action, Austin Farrar finished third in the mile, finishing with a time of 16:13.62. Jeff Leckrone finished second in the 100 yard IM at 52.96, with Mark Dye finishing third. Carsen Mumford finished second in the 200 yard backstroke at 1:52.69, and Jeremy Robertson took third in the 100 yard freestyle at 47.31.

Leckrone won the 200 yard breaststroke at 2:02.35, cutting more than four seconds off of his seed time, and Kenyon Huber-Wilker took third. Bradley Torrington finished second in the 200 yard butterfly at 1:55.50, and Noah Carpenter finished fourth.

The men's 400 yard freestyle relay of Leckrone, Gareth Mancini, Huber-Wilker, and Robertson touched the wall at 3:06.46, nearly seven seconds off their seed time.