Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW's Barrow, Brogan Invited to NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Doubles Tournament; Brogan Named as Alternate for Singles

UMW's Barrow, Brogan Invited to NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Doubles Tournament; Brogan Named as Alternate for Singles

University of Mary Washington women's tennis seniors Kait Brogan and Ashley Barrow will compete at the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Doubles Championship in Claremont, Cal., on May 24-26.

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.
For the individual championships, the national committee has selected seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool. The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-lost record, strength of schedule, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.
The team championship will take place May 21-23, and the individual championships May 24-26, both at Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California, and will be hosted by the Claremont McKenna- Harvey- Mudd-Scripps Colleges.

SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Camille Smukler, Amherst
Tess Trinka, Bowdoin
Nithya Kanagasgar, Case Western Reserve (At-Large)
Cori Siddell, Carnegie Mellon
Claire Handa, Chicago
Marjorie Antohi, Chicago
Johanna Ranta-Aho, Christopher Newport
Catherine Allen, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nicole Tan, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Lindsay Brown, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Ysabel Gonzalez-Rico, Emory
Bridget Harding, Emory
Daniela Lopez, Emory
Briana Hartmann, Gustavus Adolphus
Lauren O'Malley, John Carroll
Diana Aboubakare, Kenyon
Ella Riddle, Linfield
Heather Boehm, Middlebury (At Large)
Katy Hughes, Middlebury (At-Large)
Elysa Kohrs, MIT
Libby Rickeman, MIT (At-Large)
Caroline Casper, Pomona-Pitzer
Sarah Ikioka, Redlands
Clementina Davila, University of the South
Caroline Kutach, Trinity (Texas)
Mina Karamercan, Tufts
Michelle Fleenor, Washington and Lee
Grace Deering, Washington U. in St. Louis
Eudice Chong, Wesleyan (Connecticut)
Victoria Yu, Wesleyan (Connecticut)
Juli Raventos, Williams
Gabi Kitchell, Wisconsin-Whitewater

First alternate: Mary Cardonne, Southwestern (Texas)
Second alternate: Amanda Bandrowski, Hope
Third alternate: Kait Brogan, Mary Washington
Fourth alternate: Rachel Cross, Williams

DOUBLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Avery Wagman/Anya Iventisky, Amherst (At-Large)
Tess Trinka/Izzy Essi, Bowdoin (At-Large)
Cori Siddell/Courtney Ollis, Carnegie Mellon
Nithya Kanagasegar/Madeleine Paolucci, Case Western Reserve
Claire Handa/Marjorie Atohi, Chicago
Lindsay Brown/Nicole Tan, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Catherine Allen/Caroline Cox, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Ysabel Gonzales Rico/Bridget Harding, Emory
Kait Brogan/Ashley Barrow, Mary Washington
Skylar Schossberger/Katy Hughes, Middlebury (At-Large)
Elysa Kohrs/Libby Rickeman, MIT (At-Large)
Sarah Ikioka/Elizabeth Johnson, Redlands
Mina Karamercan/Otilia Poppa, Tufts
Eudice Chong/Victoria Yu, Weslyan (Connecticut)
Juli Raventos/Julia Cancio, Williams
Bridgid McGuire/Jillian Wallace, Wisconsin-Whitewater

First alternate: Grace Deering/Ally Persky, Washington U. in St. Louis
Second alternate: Clementina Davila/Catherine Owen, Sewanee
Third alternate: Diana Aboubakare/Eriak Oku, Kenyon
Fourth alternate: Lauren Hawley/Emma Alsup, Denison

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced in sequential order by the published list of alternates.
The draw for the individual championship will be done by the women's tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.
The 2017 singles title went to Eudice Chong of Wesleyan (Connecticut). Eudice Chong and Victoria Yu of Wesleyan (Connecticut) took the doubles title. Williams College is the defending national champion, having defeated Emory 5-4 to claim the team title. For more information about the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships, log on to