Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Art Canizares Named VaSID State College Division Coach of the Year as All-State Teams Announced

Art Canizares Named VaSID State College Division Coach of the Year as All-State Teams Announced

Fredericksburg, Va. – Averett University senior Heidi Sarkkinen repeated as the State College Division Player of the Year, W&L freshman Georgia Wright claimed State Rookie of the Year, and Mary Washington head coach Art Canizares gained State Coach of the Year as the 2019 Virginia Sports Information Directors announced the College Division Women's Tennis teams on Tuesday.

Sarkkinen, who also gained VaSID Player of the Year in 2018 and Rookie of the Year honors in 2016, was a four-time USA South Conference Player of the Year, only second ever to accomplish that feat. She was a four-time USA South All-Conference First Team member playing No. 1 singles and No. 1 She won the Flight B doubles title at Fall ITA Regionals, finishing 22-2 overall, and 16-1 in dual matches. She ended her career with only one loss in dual matches.

Wright was named VaSID Rookie of the Year, after playing at No. 2 singles for the Generals. Wright went 12-8 overall this season, including a 10-5 mark in dual matches and a 6-0 record against conference opponents. Wright became the fifth ODAC Rookie of the Year in program history, and it was the first time that W&L has had the Rookie of the Year in back-to-back seasons, after Valerie Marshall took home the award last year. Wright also played well in doubles in her first season in the Blue and White, going 16-8 overall, including an 8-4 mark at No. 1 doubles and a 5-1 record in the No. 2 slot

Canizares brought home State Coach of the Year honors after leading Mary Washington to the CAC Championship and NCAA Tournament second round in his first season at the helm. The Eagles finished 21-5 on the season, going undefeated against college division opponents as well as against conference foes, finishing the season ranked 16th in the nation.

First team honors in singles went to Sarkkinen, Liza Akimenko of UVA-Wise, Christina Harris of Lynchburg, Keyu Jin of Randolpf, Johanna Ranto-Aho of Christopher Newport, and Rachel Summers of Mary Washington.

First team doubles teams included Sarkkinen and Eleanor Crane of Averett, Ranta-aho and Olivia Reed of CNU, and Summers and Lauren Quinn of UMW.

Second team honors went to Landon Aud of Randolph-Macon, Reagan Coon of Lynchburg, Crane of Averett, Taylor Garcia of W&L, and Claire Coleman, Rachel Cooper, and Quinn of Mary Washington.

Second team doubles nods went to Stephanie Yeager and Morgan Fuqua of Randolph-Macon, Georgia Wright and Taylor Garcia as well as Anna Kreynin and Mary Hampton McNeal of Washington and Lee.


VaSID all-state teams are nominated by and voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors membership.




All-State First Team                                                                      


Heidi Sarkkinen/Eleanor Crane                             Averett University

Johanna Ranta-aho/Olivia Reed                           Christopher Newport University

Rachel Summers/Lauren Quinn                           University of Mary Washington                                       



Liza Akimenko                                                             University of Virginia-Wise

Christina Harris                                                            University of Lynchburg

Keyu Jin                                                                          Randolph College

Johanna Ranta-aho                                                   Christopher Newport University

Heidi Sarkkinen                                                           Averett University

Rachel Summers                                                        University of Mary Washington


All-State Second Team                                                                


Stephanie Yeager/Morgan Fuqua                       Randolph-Macon College

Georgia Wright/Taylor Garcia                                Washington and Lee University

Anna Kreynin/Mary Hampton McNeal              Washington and Lee University                                       



Landon Aud                        Randolph-Macon College
Claire Coleman                  University of Mary Washington
Reagan Coon                      University of Lynchburg
Rachel Cooper                   University of Mary Washington
Eleanor Crane                    Averett University
Taylor Garcia                      Washington and Lee University
Lauren Quinn                     University of Mary Washington